The Dead Lands is an eight-part supernatural adventure that is set in a mythic Māori past. The series features a murdered Māori warrior, Waka Nuku Rau (Te Kohe Tuhaka), who’s sent back to the world of the living to redeem his sins. But the world Waka returns to is ravaged by a breach between life and the afterlife, as the spirits of the newly dead now stalk the land and hunt the living. 

Screen Incentives 

New Zealand Screen Production Grant (NZSPG) NZ 


TV Series 

Production companies 

GFC Films 


Matthew Metcalfe, Glenn Standring, Fraser Brown, Tainui Stephens, Liz Adams 


Peter Meteherangi Tikao Burger and Michael Hurst