Issue date: 
Tuesday, 22 February 2022

Six filmmaking teams have been selected for Kōpere Hou Fresh Shorts and each will receive project development and a grant of $15,000 to make their short film.

The final six were selected from 112 applications received. 18 teams were shortlisted and given feedback from independent assessors.  Fresh Shorts programme manager Emma Mortimer supported the teams as they prepared for a more detailed application to Whiringa Tuarua - Stage Two in January. From those 18 submissions, six have been selected.  Two teams who were shortlisted last year, but didn’t get selected, did further work on their projects and resubmitted with success this year.
Through a development process and mentoring these writers, producers and directors are supported to improve their projects to an excellent standard where the story is shoot ready. The teams will get the advice they need, and guidance from experienced mentors. 
Jackie Dennis, Executive Director of Script to Screen Te Tari Tuhi Kupu A Whakaahua says, “It’s our joy to create a tailored programme that nurtures, challenges, and inspires these filmmakers. We look forward to supporting each member of the teams as they develop their stories and prepare for production.”

Dale Corlett, Head of NZFC Talent Development says, "We were impressed by both the talent of all the shortlisted teams and the uniqueness of their stories. We look forward to working alongside the funded teams to bring exceptional films to the screen."

The six selected teams and their projects are:

Boy Eats God
Writer/Director: Litia Tuiburelevu
Producer: Maria Tanner
Writer/Director: Briar March
Producer: Caroline Hutchison

Writer/Director: Keely Meechan
Producer: Isobelle Walton 

School Night
Writer/Director: Nick Mayow
Director:  Prisca Bouchet
Producer: Joseph McAlpine 

Te Rākau Atamira (The Hanging Tree)
Writer/Director: Piata Gardiner-Hoskins
Producer: Peata Melbourne

Turtle Tent
Writer/Director: Pon Torthienchai
Producer: Sara Chen 

Read more about the recipients here.

Last updated: 
Wednesday, 2 March 2022