Issue date: 
Friday, 17 May 2019

New Zealand funding agencies, NZ On Air and the New Zealand Film Commission have partnered on the development of ten series ideas with international and domestic appeal.

The initiative, Raupapa Whakaari Drama to the World, will support each writer/producer team to develop distinctive, high-end scripted series with an initial grant of NZ$10,000. Each team will also attend a Series Drama Lab, held in conjunction with Script to Screen, where international advisors will give feedback on story and market to assist the teams to further develop their concepts and strengthen appeal to the international marketplace.

Following the Series Drama Lab and submission of the re-worked projects, four teams will be selected to receive additional development funding of up to NZ$80,000.

New Zealand Film Commission CEO Annabelle Sheehan said “There really has never been a better time to tell stories than now, thanks to the global expansion of mega platforms such as Netflix, Amazon and now Disney with Disney Plus and then its takeover of Hulu this week. Drama to the World will support New Zealand writers and producers to develop distinctive projects and stand-out in a crowded global competitive landscape. “

“NZ On Air is thrilled to be supporting local creatives to potentially tell their stories on an international stage through this initiative. The incredibly high quality of the applications received spoke clearly of the depth and breadth of talent we have working in New Zealand” says NZ On Air Chief Executive Jane Wrightson. 

“Script to Screen is delighted to be delivering the Series Drama Lab, supporting New Zealand screen makers to tell extraordinary stories. The Lab will connect, upskill, and energise the participants and foster international pathways for their stories, and our industry” says Executive Director Jackie Dennis.

The ten successful projects are:

(*Not Her Real Name)  Pip Hall / Carmen J Leonard / Deborah Cope

All of Me                        Daniel Musgrove / Natalie Medlock / Shoshana McCallum / Peter Salmon

Chasing Pure                Carey James Carter / Gavin Strawhan / Rachel Lang / Steven Ivan Zanoski

Dreamhunter                 Roxane Gajadhar / Angela Littlejohn

Drunk Poetry                 Briar Grace-Smith / Victor Rodger / Desray Armstrong

O                                    Donna Malane / Paula Boock / Carthew Neal

Rockburn                       Hannah Marshall / David de Lautour / Gareth Williams / Kelly Martin

Ruatoria                         Kath Akuhuta-Brown / Greg McGee / Philippa Rennie / Robin Scholes/ Lee Tamahori

The Different Girl         Alison Maclean / Philippa Campbell

The Harder They Fall    Matthew Saville / Luke Sharpe / Gerard Johnstone

More information on the teams and projects, can be found here.

Last updated: 
Friday, 17 May 2019