Issue date: 
Wednesday, 14 September 2016

A new film co-production agreement between New Zealand and Canada will build on the strong screen sector relationships linking both countries, Arts, Culture and Heritage Minister Maggie Barry says.

New Zealand High Commissioner to Canada, Daniel Mellsop, and the Minister for Canadian Heritage, Mélanie Joly, signed the agreement at a ceremony in Toronto today.

“This new co-production agreement with Canada replaces an earlier 1987 agreement, which has been one of New Zealand’s most successful, with more than 25 different productions,” Ms Barry says.

“Two New Zealand films, Lee Tamahori’s The Patriarch/Mahana and Alison Maclean’s The Rehearsal are currently playing at the Toronto Film Festival, which makes the signing particularly appropriate.

“Productions under the previous agreement included The Turbo Kid and the TV series Mercy Peak and Jane and the Dragon: Shall We Dance.”

The new agreement reflects changes in the screen sector over the last 30 years. It features changes to the minimum levels of financial contribution from each co-production partner, and will promote greater flexibility when filling key creative roles.

The agreement enables approved joint film projects to gain official co-production status.

This status gives film makers access to funding and incentives in line with those available for national films in each country.

New Zealand currently has 18 bilateral film co-production agreements with Australia, Canada, China, Chinese Taipei, Denmark, France, Germany, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Poland, the Republic of Korea, Singapore, South Africa, Spain and the United Kingdom

Last updated: 
Thursday, 15 September 2016