Issue date: 
Tuesday, 24 November 2020

New Zealand Film Commission and Script to Screen take great pleasure in announcing the 18 projects and teams who have been shortlisted for Kōpere Hou - Fresh Shorts 2020.

A panel of external film industry assessors shortlisted 18 projects out of a total of 97 applications. These shortlisted teams have been invited to apply for Whiringa Tuarua - Stage Two where they submit a full application. The 18 teams will be supported throughout the Whiringa Tuarua - Stage Two process to help them put their best foot forward. 

Six projects from the shortlisted 18 will be selected, giving the teams a one in three chance of workshopping their project with industry experts and receiving a grant to make their film. 

Script to Screen and the New Zealand Film Commission thank all the filmmakers who applied, there was a wealth of great ideas and some extremely strong filmmaking teams to select from.

Congratulations to the 18 teams shortlisted for Kōpere Hou Fresh Shorts Whiringa Tuarua Stage Two:

An Indecent Proposal 
Writer: Matt Butler
Director: Gal Hochman 
Producer: Madison Smith
Writer/Producer: Francesca Mackenzie
Director: Ahmed Osman
Ave Marie
Writer/Director: Celestina Sumby
Producers: Francesca Carney, Zelda Edwards
Blood Bound
Writer/Director: Corinna Hunziker
Producer: Mia Henry-Teirney
Cradle & Grave
Writer: Malinna Liang
Director: Tema Pua
Producer: Phoebe Shum
Departure of an Unknown Woman
Writer/Director: Gorjan Markovski
Producer: Cameo England
Writer/Producer: Paul Veart
Director: Stephen Clothier
Writer/Director: Aaron Ly
Producer: Isaiah Tour
Writer/Director: Grae Meek
Producer: Anna Canton

Writer/Director: Briar March
Producer: Caroline Hutchison
Writer/Director: Moana Ete
Producer: Christopher Ulutupu
Writer/Director: Kyrah Hetaraka
Producer: Angela Cudd
Petey's Beard
Writer/Director: Dries Naude
Producer: Jaimee Poipoi
The Hanging Tree
Writer: Todd Karehana
Director: Piata Gardiner-Hoskins
Producer: Peata Melbourne
The Safe House
Writer/Director: Rebekah Tyler
Producer: Emma Mortimer
Thirty Seconds
Writer: Suzanne Adamson
Directors: Suzanne Adamson, Kirsty Hamilton
Producer: Candace Borchert
Unique Desires
Writer/Producer: Helena Ashcroft
Director: Natala Huaki Gwiazdzinski
Producer: Mia Maramara
Director: Hweiling Ow

Last updated: 
Tuesday, 24 November 2020