Back to top anchor
Menu Close

Past Funding Decisions

Back to content top anchor

Looking at how we have funded films on their journey to production helps you to see how films get funded and the various ways we support filmmakers. 

More recent, more detail

Our records date back to 1988/89 and reflect information published in our Annual Reports. Our Annual Reports were not as detailed in earlier years so more recent years have more comprehensive information. New funding decisions will be uploaded after each Film Commission Board meeting, which are held five times a year. 

Accurate data

We have tried to ensure that these records are accurate.  If any records have incorrect information, please let us know and we will correct it as soon as possible. We recommend reading the Guide to Funding Decisions before using the data.

263.58 KB
New Zealand Film Commission Guide to Past Funding Decisions

Year Title/Project Alias Funding Key People Type Amount
2007/08 Zero Jackie Dennis, Leo Woodhead Short film production investment $100,000
2013/14 Zealandia Axel Paton, Bruno du Bois, Aline Tran Short film production investment $90,000
2012/13 Young and Hapu Vicky Pope, Juliette Veber Script development $56,000
2015/16 You've Got The Cowboy Murray Francis, Norelle Scott Script development $10,000
1994/95 You're My Venus Stewart Main, Garth Maxwell, Debra Daley Script development $38,000
2013/14 You and Me Kelly Kilgour, Timothy White, Casey Whelan Script development $20,000
2016/17 Yellow is Forbidden (Conditional Offer) Pietra Brettkelly, Naomi Wallwork Feature film production investment
2001/02 Xposure Rachel Jean, Christine Parker, Christine Rogers Script development $2,000
2013/14 Wulf Robin Scholes, Sam Peacocke, Michael Bennett Script development $25,000
2016/17 Writing Human Stories workshop with Britta McVeigh Alex Backhouse Professional development $250
2015/16 Writing for Animation Workshop (ANIMFXNZ) Grow Wellington Professional development $2,500
2011/12 Writers Series - joint initiative Script to Screen Professional development $5,000
2008/09 Writer Award Graeme Tetley Devolved development $50,000
2008/09 Writer Award Shuchi Kothari Devolved development $50,000
2007/08 Writer Award Glenn Standring Devolved development $50,000
2007/08 Writer Award Matthew Grainger Devolved development $50,000
2007/08 Writer Award Michael Bennett Devolved development $50,000
2007/08 Writer Award Nick Ward Devolved development $50,000
2007/08 Writer Award Riwia Brown Devolved development $50,000
2009/10 Writer Award Greg Page Devolved development $50,000

*Asterisk indicates amount has been fully repaid (in the case of development loans) or fully recouped (in the case of production investment). 


Get funding and support