Back to top anchor
Menu Close

Past Funding Decisions

Back to content top anchor

Looking at how we have funded films on their journey to production helps you to see how films get funded and the various ways we support filmmakers. 

More recent, more detail

Our records date back to 1988/89 and reflect information published in our Annual Reports. Our Annual Reports were not as detailed in earlier years so more recent years have more comprehensive information. New funding decisions will be uploaded after each Film Commission Board meeting, which are held five times a year. 

Accurate data

We have tried to ensure that these records are accurate.  If any records have incorrect information, please let us know and we will correct it as soon as possible. We recommend reading the Guide to Funding Decisions before using the data.

Year Title/Project Alias Funding Key People Type Amount
2019/20 A Place to Stand Jane Robertson, Tess Hutson Script development $15,000
2019/20 All of Me Shoshana McCallum, Natalie Medlock, Dan Muskgrove, Peter Salmon Series Development $80,000
2019/20 Ashes and Prophets Ruatoria Kath Akuhata-Brown, Greg McGee, Philippa Rennie, Robin Scholes, Lee Tamahori Series Development $80,000
2019/20 Drunk Poetry Briar Grace-Smith, Desray Armstrong, Victor Rodger Series Development $80,000
2019/20 Kōkā Verity Mackintosh, Julian Arahanga, Becs Arahanga, Kath Akuhata-Brown Script development $15,000
2019/20 LT Rangi Reikura Kahi, Tearepa Kahi Script development $25,000
2019/20 Making Patu! Gaylene Preston, Heperi Mita Script development $20,000
2019/20 Muru Reikura Kahi, Tearepa Kahi Script development $20,000
2019/20 Night Raiders Ainsley Gardiner, Georgina Allison Conder, Danis Goulet, Paul Barkin, Tara Woodbury Feature film production investment $450,000
2019/20 Ōmai Lara Northcroft, Cliff Curtis, Chris Winitana Script development $30,000
2019/20 Rockburn Hannah Marshall, Gareth Williams, David de Lautour, Kelly Martin Series Development $80,000
2019/20 Songs From the Inside Verity Mackintosh, Becs Arahanga, Kelly Kilgour, Julian Arahanga Script development $25,000
2019/20 Stoendogs Philippa Campbell, Richard Fletcher, Kelly Rogers, Gillian Ashurst, Glenn Standring Script development $25,000
2019/20 Subverting the Future Mark McNeill, Justin Pemberton Script development $19,700
2019/20 Whale Harvesters Vincent Burke, Kim Webby, Mike Jonathan Script development $10,000
2019/20 Whawhai Tonu - The Struggle Without End Moetu Piripi Curtis, Mike Jonathan, Tim Worrall Script development $25,000
2018/19 Mike Horton, Greg Jennings Professional development $10,000
2018/19 Berlinale Talents 2019 Abigail Greenwood Professional development $5,000
2018/19 Fourth World Conference of Screenwriters 2018 Kathryn Burnett Professional development $5,000
2018/19 NATIVe Fellows Programme 2019 Desray Armstrong Professional development $5,000

*Asterisk indicates amount has been fully repaid (in the case of development loans) or fully recouped (in the case of production investment). 


Get funding and support