Essential information

Te Aupounamu Māori Screen Excellence Award has been established alongside Te Rautaki Māori o Te Tumu Whakaata Taonga; the New Zealand Film Commission’s Māori Strategy. The annual award is a way of recognising and celebrating members of the Māori filmmaking community who have displayed a high-level contribution and/or achievement in filmmaking.

The Māori Screen Excellence Award will offer a maximum of a $50,000 grant to one recipient. Applications for this award are by nomination through the NZFC application portal. Anyone can submit a nomination; however, nominees must be Māori and actively participating in the film industry in New Zealand or overseas.

Key Points
  • The person making the nomination needs to be able to provide
    • a biography,
    • description of what they believe makes the filmmaker successful and;
    • why they should be acknowledged.
  • Filmmakers are permitted to self-nominate.
  • The award is open to writers, directors, producers, heads of department and screen industry representatives.

The selection panel will consist of two NZFC representatives and at least two Ngā Aho Whakaari  representatives. The panel will meet and make recommendations on the Award recipient(s), with the final decision to be made by the NZFC CEO. 

Due to insufficient applications for Te Aupounamu Māori Screen Excellence Award, Te Rautaki Māori o Te Tumu Whakaata Taonga have decided to re-open the portal to receive further nominations. 

This fund is currently closed to applications.

We apologise for the delay in awarding Te Aupounamu Māori Screen Excellence AwardFor more information or if you have any questions please contact the Rautaki Māori team at


New Zealand Filmmakers
Funding type
Last updated: 
Monday, 25 January 2021