All Audiences
Funding type: 

Te Aupounamu The Māori Screen Excellence Award has been established alongside Te Rautaki Māori o Te Tumu Whakaata Taonga; the New Zealand Film Commission’s Māori Strategy. The annual award is a way of recognising and celebrating members of the Māori filmmaking community who have displayed a high level contribution and/or achievement in filmmaking.

The Māori Screen Excellence Award will offer $50,000 to a maximum of two recipients. Applications for this award are by nomination. Anyone can submit a nomination, however nominees must be Māori and actively participating in the film industry in New Zealand or overseas.

Key Points
  • The person making the nomination needs to be able to provide a biography and description of what they believe makes the filmmaker successful and why they should be acknowledged.
  • Filmmakers are permitted to self-nominate.
  • The award is open to writers, directors, producers, heads of department and screen industry representatives.

The selection panel will consist of two NZFC representatives and at least two Ngā Aho Whakaari  representatives. The panel will meet and make recommendations on the Award recipient(s), with the final decision to be made by the NZFC CEO. 

The Māori Screen Excellence Award recipient(s) will be announced at the Ngā Aho Whakaari Hui-a-Tau Conference Dinner on Saturday 16  March 2019.

Te Aupounamu The Māori Screen Excellence Award is closed to nominations for 2019.

Last updated: 
Thursday, 20 December 2018