Ramai Hayward Wahine Māori Directors' Scholarship

Share this:

The Ramai Hayward Wahine Māori Directors' Scholarship acknowledges the legacy and outstanding contribution of pioneering Māori filmmaker, Ramai Hayward.

Born in 1916, Patricia Rongomaitara "Ramai" Hayward (Ngāi Tahu, Ngāti Kahungunu) was New Zealand’s first Māori filmmaker, working as an actor, camerawoman, director and scriptwriter from the 1930s, through to her death in 2014.  Her career took her to Australia, Albania, the UK and China, where she and her husband, Rudall Hayward, made the first English language films after the Communist revolution. 

The aim of this scholarship is to support wahine Māori first time feature film directors to progress their projects to a market-ready state, and assist with securing a producer and production finance in the future. 

The scholarship is a total of up to $50,000 to be provided as a grant for wahine Māori first time feature film directors. This scholarship may be shared by more than one recipient.

This scholarship will fund a programme of tailored support for the recipient(s). The support is expected to be evenly split between script and skills development. The final tailored programme will be developed by the successful recipient(s) and the NZFC, in consultation with Ngā Aho Whakaari and other relevant film industry organisations.

The specific details of the programme will depend upon the individual’s circumstances and current career point.  However, we anticipate that it will include bespoke script development support, skills development workshops, film market training and attendance at events locally and potentially internationally. The kaupapa of this scholarship will be reflective and respectful of Te Ao Māori.

The recipient(s) may be a director or a writer/director. There is no requirement for a producer to be attached to the project to apply. 

Applications for the Ramai Hayward Directors' Scholarship closed in April 2017.  

In July, Briar Grace Smith and Rachel House were announced as the recipients of the scholarship with each receiving $50,000 to develop their film scripts and directing skills, with the goal of directing their first feature films.